[Help] Available Screen Space

rrnut

I am new to Phaser and mobile.

As a learning exercise I am attempting to build a simple demo that renders a Phaser game object in the browser and draws a rectangle around the border of the available visible space. My goal is to make sure I understand how to determine the actual usable space. My game is going to use a board that fills one screen so I do not need (or want) any scrolling. I just want to determine the usable screen space so I can fill  it.

I have found numerous versions of this question on this forum and others and after trying many of the things discussed I am still not getting the result I am after.

Based on reading, I think I should be using window.innerWidth and window.innerHeight to get the dimensions I want.

On my desktops (using Chrome and Edge/IE) it works as expected.

On my tablets (iPad and Nexus) it works as expected for both portrait and landscape orientations.

On my iPhone (6) it works in portrait but when I turn it to landscape (and refresh the screen) the browser's navigation bar covers the bottom.

On my Android phone it works in landscape but when I turn it to portrait (and refresh the screen)  the browser's nav bar covers the bottom.

I have spent a couple days on this so now it's time to ask for help...

Is there a property I can use to get the actual usable space in the current browser or will there always need to be tweaking for specific devices?

Thanks for any suggestions,

DK

Edit:

So I added a check in the render function to watch for the screen size changing. When a size change is detected it rereads the window.innerHeight and window.innerWidth properties and then resizes the game accordingly. Doing this inside the render function appears to solve the problem. 

I am going to go with this for now. If anyone has any additional words of wisdom I am still open to suggestions.

Edited by rrnut
Additional information - possible solution

6 hours ago, rrnut said: