How to add materials to an extruded mesh

Mark1

I have built some simpler structures in BJS, and I am researching how to build more complex ones. I can add materials to the simple meshes, but what if it is more complicated.

Suppose I draw the profile of a car, then extrude it into a 3d car shape, how do I add different materials onto it. E.g. if I have two images for the front and rear windscreens (windshields), how do I add them to just those parts of the mesh?

Hiya Mark1, welcome to the forum.  I can only give MY opinion... and I'm no expert.

#1 way:  Make windshield, rear window, side windows, door handles, bumpers, headlights, blinkers... from separate mesh.  Set a special material for each one, and position the extra mesh in the proper positions onto the extruded car body.  Probably set each extra mesh .parent = carbody... then position each.

#2 way:  Use picked points as references.  Look at this playground demo, please:  https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#DBFVA#4

Open your JS console, and see X and Y "textureCoordinates" are being reported... as you click-around on the plane.  They are numbers such as .73 and .04, etc, etc.

Now, enter a 2D paint program and make a texture that is 1000 x 1000. It should probably be a solid-colored texture.  Use the car body main color, for easy painting, later.

Place THAT 1000 x 1000 texture onto carBody.material.diffuseTexture.  Use the same methods as shown in that playground and click around on the car body.  You should be seeing the same kind of numbers... all values between 0 and 1.  You can think of these numbers as percentages.  .73 = 73%.  .04 = 4%, etc.

Now zoom-in your camera, and click on the location where you want ONE corner of the windshield to be.  Record the values.  But this time, if the X value is .73, you write down 730.  If the Y value is .04, you write down 40.

Do the same for ALL 4 corners of the windshield.  Do the same for the rear window.