Lanktor

Greetings all,

I am have been a 'C' and Assembler systems coder for over 35 years. I am retired now and I want to try my hand at writing a game. I have been reading the documentation a great deal as well as looking at many examples. I have also been in communication with Dad72 who is a member here. He has been very kind. 

That being said I have some questions regarding the mechanics of Babylon.js. I am a real noob when it comes to this framework as I have always programmed 'on the wire' and never used a scripted language that is not strictly type cast so please forgive my ignorance. 

My goal is to build a 3D game that has a detective who runs around and solves crimes. He will go into several areas looking for clues and then use those clues to solve the crime. As an example, the detective may be sent to a warehouse where he will open a safe after finding the combination and then see some clues that will lead him to a suspects home. There will be human models, as well as different things that can be picked up examined and used. The story may be outside sometimes as well as inside. This is a very basic description of the mechanics of the game but I think you can see where I am going.

I need some advice on what documentation I should read. What forums I should frequent and perhaps even some examples. I am really at a loss as my area is low level operating system programming in Windows, Linux, and DOS. I do have some questions about what I think may help me, so if you would not mind I would like to ask them.

I have been doing some reading and stumbled upon SceneLoader.Append.

Is it possible to build an entire level in Blender, then export that with the Babylon.js Blender exporter, then load that with SceneLoader.Append? Is that the best way to build the game I described.

After a level is loaded can I then set up collision detection with actions?