Reconciling the coordinates of a 3d object and its DynamicTexture

Bladetrick

Hello again!

So I started playing with the dynamic textures and ran across something funky.

I created a ground object with the dynamic texture and using a sample provided to me by Delkatosh, I generated a random disc over its surface. 

Next, I used .arc to create a circle on the ground object using the same coordinates. At this point I noticed two problems.  The first, and most alarming to me, was that the circle and disc didn't match up.  So the coordinate system on the mesh are not directly aligned to the texture's coordinate system? How do I reconcile the two?

Here's what I was hoping to achieve:

5abbb349eff64_Reconcileddiscs.PNG.7cbf818b4c1018c69d5ae521c3707abd.PNG

And this is what actually happens:

5abbb34d0dd18_Unreconcileddiscs.PNG.6c179e9b866092fe548f54ac847bdfaf.PNG

Here's the playground I was working with: https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#I4MFZ8#1

So the other problem I noticed is the circles drawn by arc on the canvas became stretched into elliptical shapes. 

On this playground I used a sphere so you can clearly see the skewing of the shape:   https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#RQGTKJ

Thank you for the time!  

Lord, that was fast!   That looks like what I needed exactly.  I'll be sure to study it so I understand it.  Thank you!

By the way, the second problem I mentioned?  Would you happen to know why my

.arc(u * 512, v * 512, 5, 0, Math.PI * 2, true); 

end up looking like pills instead of circles?

Thanks again, Delta

Apologies, but I ran into a problem.  For kicks, I exchanged the ground obj for a sphere and everything blitzed.

whattheEFF.PNG.9de974a9276f55bd701d3d3ef0946d4b.PNG

In my project, I won't know what object will be loaded up.  Could be flat, could be a torus knot kind of thing.  How can I align the coordinates in these situations?