Help on making a shotgun spread pattern ?

HyHy

Hello I'm new to babylonjs and I've been trying to make a constant shotgun spread pattern in babylon.js for a couple of days.

For the moment my approach consists of having a couple of lines ready to be displayed in an array :

let sgPellets = [
            BABYLON.Mesh.CreateLines("lines", [
                        shotgunPosition,
                        meshFound.pickedPoint
            ], this.Player.game.scene),
            BABYLON.Mesh.CreateLines("lines", [
                        shotgunPosition,
                        meshFound.pickedPoint
            ], this.Player.game.scene),
        ] 

where shotgunPosition is the absolute position of the shotgun mesh in the world and meshFound.pickedPoint is the position of where I'm aiming at (on a mesh).

So I can draw a line (the first of the array in this case) between the shotgun mesh and the mesh I click on.

Now for the second line, I want it to rotate a bit on the y axis from the first (which is exactly where I'm aiming at) so:

for(let k=0; k<sgPellets.length; k++){
            sgPellets[k].setPivotPoint(shotgunPosition);
            sgPellets[k].isPickable = false;
            switch(k){
                case 1:
                    sgPellets[k].rotation.y += 0.1
                    break
            }
           }

It does work well when I look on the sides enter image description here

but not when I look up or down.enter image description here

It is surely because you cant extand indifinitly on the axis. But then, what's the workaround ?

I think I'm missing something on the math side

Does anyone have any hints on how to make the angle constant between the two lines anywhere you look ? Thank you.?

Hello HyHy, and welcome to the BJS forum.  What an interesting project you have!  Cool!

I don't have any answers to your issues, but I want to show you a neat system that our friend @jerome built.  (at least I THINK he built it)  ;)