Events and/or Callbacks?

clark

I am a Flash dev been toying with TypeScript over the last month.  

One thing that confuses me about JS, is events. window.addEventListener exists but it appears to be part of the dom?  Lets say I have a timer which counts down 5 seconds.  My new class cannot dispatch events, the property does not exist and there is no EventDispatcher?

So in JS/TS games, are events discouraged?  If so, what is the alternative?  Callbacks?

Is a call back just a function I provide? Lets say this just as a basic example?

var timer = new Timer();
timer.onComplete = function(){console.log("test")};
timer.startCountdown(5);

so inside my timer, when countdown is 0, I invoke the onComplete() method?   Is this, in a nutshell, what a callback is?

Finally, what is a closure then??

Thanks guruz :D

if you want custom DOM event use dispatchEvent()  (https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/API/EventTarget.dispatchEvent?redirectlocale=en-US&redirectslug=DOM%2FEventTarget.dispatchEvent)

if you want to trigger custom behaviour when a condition is verifier then use callbacks ...

if you want something more generic here is a TS code I use for my own projects allowing to register, bind and trigger custom events. it also handles multiple events listeners