Xeonzinc

Hi folks,

I've been studying and learning Babylon js for a couple of months now, great stuff so far! However I've run into an issue, which seems to be either with OnPointerOverTrigger or ExecuteCodeAction.

Basically I want to call a function when you either mouse over/out a mesh, however the function only receives the meshUnderPointer on the OnPointerOutTrigger, not OnPointerOverTrigger. Is this a bug or am i misunderstanding how this is meant to work? I've put an example on the playground, the console log shows no meshUnderPointer for the OnPointerOverTrigger event.

http://www.babylonjs.com/playground/#8ULNX#6

Hey,

I've found another issue with this function you can see here:

OnPointerOutTrigger appears to fire for the wrong object when the OnPointerOverTrigger triggers over another object at the same time. You can observe if you move the mouse directly from one sphere to the other, the OnPointerOutTrigger  shows the new object, not the old one. I suspect this is going to be something do with the timings?

http://www.babylonjs.com/playground/#8ULNX#13

As a separate point, is there a good way to get an actions like these to automatically also apply to the children meshes? (so in the example ground object would also act the same as sphere 1)? 

• 2 weeks later...

Xeonzinc, welcome to the forum.  This is a cool little demo.  Thanks for showing it to us.  And Deltakosh, thanks for tweaking it.

Xeonzinc... in the last line of your post, you asked about cascading an action onto one or all child meshes.  I don't think there is an easy .includeChildren property on ActionManagers, but it is an interesting idea.  You talked about actions, but would you want triggers to do the same?  The children of a mesh that has an ActionManager... can trigger the parent's ActionManager?  (if a flag is set to allow it)

I bet that would be a pain in the butt to code.  :)  But I am certainly no expert.