Texture's source image aspect ratio

dabrorius

Hi,

I'm trying to load a photo as a texture on to a piece of a (square) mesh. The problem is that original photo is not square so I need to somehow figure out aspect ratio of it so I can modify the mesh to fit it. 

What's the best way to do it? I can fetch the image via url using pure JS but that does not seem right and introduces some problems because that request is asynchronous. Any suggestion?

Hi dabrorius... welcome to the forum.  I am not an expert on this at all... but... I have an idea.  I am going to assume that you do not know what the dimensions of the picture are, and you would like to use Babylon.js to help ascertain the picture size, so you can make a plane/rectangle which has the same proportions as the image.

First, in our Playpen Tutorials, take note of the Materials tutorial and the Discover Basic Elements tutorial.  In basic elements, in the "Grounds' section, you will find the command CreateGround.  It just makes a plane (square) that you can easily set width and height upon.  We won't make one yet, but just keep that in mind.

Now, in the Materials tutorial, you will find this line...

materialSphere1.diffuseTexture = new BABYLON.Texture("grass.png", scene);

Lets change that line to...

var mypicture = new BABYLON.Texture("picture_url", scene);  // rem about CORS rules for cross-domain

Adjust 'picture_url' to a working picture URL, of course. Now you've got a variable (mypicture) that is the picture (if the load was successful).

Next, look at the API for the BABYLON.Texture class object... http://doc.babylonjs.com/page.php?p=24708 .  Scroll down until you see the .getSize() method.  "Return the size of the texture in an array"

So...  maybe next you can try...

var sizearray = mypicture.getSize();console.log(sizearray); // examine the array's format & compare values to test pic sizes.

Let's pretend the sizearray returns:  [1024, 768]