How to handle animations vs user input

ste2425

Hi guys n gals

I'm new to Phaser so go easy. I've been working with NodeJs and AngularJs for a few years then i came across Phaser and was extremely interested which lead me to this project. My project is to attempt to re-create my all-time favourite game Abe's Oddysee (I know jump in the deep end). So ive built a texture atlas for abe with all his different movements, walking, running, jumping up/forward, turning, rolling forward etc. 

Now these animations are triggered by different key presses however when one animation needs to change to another the current animation just stops and the next plays. In the real game there a transitions between these actions so when turning left from facing right, first a turning animation is played, when stopping abe comes to a halt rather then the walking animation just stopping etc. 

So my question is rather open ended and more a general what's best practice, but how do i handle these transition animations? Currently my controls are linked directly to playing specific animations. I realise i need to decouple these so the input says i wan't to turn right but there is something else that handles any required animations before the walking right animation is played. Is there some framework/practice that is usually followed to accomplish this or does it vary and is down to user specific implementations? 

Any advice would be extremely appreciated.

The code below is a very basic example of how I'm calling my animations.

var cursors = game.input.keyboard.createCursorKeys();if (cursors.left.isDown) {    game.player.animations.play('walkingL');} else if (cursors.right.isDown) {    game.player.animations.play('walkingR');}//In my update function

Thanks all Stephen.