merging images to new image / new sprite? Bulletholes?

lazee

Hey there,

i'm very new to phaser, before digging deeper i'd like to know if something like this is possible:

- merging sprites into the background-image, so they are not sprites anymore but just part of the background bitmap (infinite bulletholes without performance loss)

- merging two sprites into one sprite to get a new animation frame (bulletholes on animated characters)

- generally: manipulating the image data used as animation frames or sprites - i want to shoot bullets on an object and it gets bigger because the bullets add to its bitmap when colliding

I found very little by googling, can someone hint me in the right direction or tell me, if phaser covers such things?

many thanks in advance :)

Game developers often stumble across this seemingly magical solution to reduce your sprite count by having the textures get modified directly, but in truth it's not really a very good solution because it's not the amount of sprites on the screen which is the real problem. It is possible to edit textures in Phaser by manipulating BitmapData or using RenderTextures but what you'll quickly realise is that if you have any other sprites or images using the same image resource, the bullet holes will appear on those too. Even if doing it just on a background, every time you add a bullet hole to the background you'll have to modify the texture and re-upload it; and it's probably much more efficient to just have a SpriteBatch of bullet holes in front of the background in this case.