3DS Max exported animation is distorted

spritefire

As the topic states. 

I'm new to babylonjs (had been using threejs for a year now) and decided to give it a go after watching the MVA videos (which were great!).

I have read through the forums and noticed limitations to vertices having maximum 4 bone influences and I have gone over the model and looked in the skin weight table and can't find any vertices that have over 4 influences (although its possible I may have missed because there is 5000 vertices. 
I have noticed lots of different answers concerning similar issues and blender but none with 3ds max.
The file exports ok and there are no errors. The bones animate fine its just the skin itself stretches like bouncing. 

Using Max2Babylon 0.14.1 and does the same on both 3ds max 2014 and 2015. 

post-12583-0-93329900-1421168934.png

Some of the guys here have been doing some great work on the 3ds max exporter as it's had a few problems with bipeds. I'm not sure it's 100% at the moment though. From my experience here are a few things to try:

1) Remove your root bone (often Bip001) from the skin modifier

2) Ensure your root bone is centered on 0,0,0 without any transformations

3) Try v10 of the exporter (this is the only one I've managed to get working with my animations so far) - https://www.dropbox.com/s/lr94at0s4hhfb1b/Max2Babylon-0.10.0.zip?dl=0

EDIT:

Also 3ds max offers an option to set the 4-bone limit ( so no need to bother checking the weights table):

Go to - skin modifier/advanced parameters/Bone affect limit

• 11 months later...

I have the same problem using 3ds max 2015 and the latest exporter.

Skeleton based animations are disorted like shown on spritefires screenshot.

My test mesh is a player character rig wich has a body and a head mesh bound to the skeleton.

The plugin exports 1 skeleton for each mesh in this case, not sure if thats correct.

But the animation disortion happens even with a single mesh rig.

• 3 weeks later...