recycling particles

jerome

Hi,

I just start learning about particles, reading the wiki, all your posts and funky demos, guys, and the doc/code.

As I can see in many playground demos that people overwrite for their own needs the Emitter.updateFunction(), I dig a little in the TS genuine code (though I'm not a TS coder, it is very readable)

https://github.com/BabylonJS/Babylon.js/blob/master/Babylon/Particles/babylon.particleSystem.ts#L138

L138 : recycling

The particle age is its recycling criterium.

So the recycled particles are removed from the particles array and added to the stock array for later use (re-emission, etc).

To remove a particle from the particles array, the javascript (unless it is overwritten in typescript) splice() function is used.

As far as I know, this function returns a new js array.

So this means, the GC will be called to free the former array allocated memory. 

We can think this little detail is not that important.. but we are here within an updateFunction() intended to be called each frame, maybe for each particle, aren't we ?

Maybe on powerful computers, we'll even never notice this GC behavior.

I know (for having read much about this topic) that in 2D html5 games, spliced array (and other js functions which dynamically create new objects) are avoided as much as possible in the render loop.

A workaround could be to sort() the particles array and then have for example living particles from 0 to deathIndex-1 and dead particles from deadIndex to particles.length with this deathIndex managed in the Emitter.

The sort() function returns the same array ... sorted. No memory free/allocation, so no GC calls.

I don't know if sorting a almost pre-sorted big array is quicker (*) than a GC call therefore. And sorting not scalar type objects with sort() is not that easy in javascript either.

Or manually to sort the array by setting living and dead particles at choosen indexes (see next post)