Glowing button and tweens

Tom Atom

Hi, I am new to Phaser as well as to this forum...

Yesterday I created button that starts glowing when user moves mouse over it and stops glowing when user leaves it. The glowing in gradual and full glow in and out takes some time (0.25 sec), so it may happen that user leaves it before it is fully in or returns before it is fully out.

I created glowing button like this: standard button, over it I have glow (initialy with 0 alpha) and finally there is text above. Two callbacks are used for Button.onInputOver and Button.onInputOut. In these callbacks I do this:

// -------------------------------------------------------------------------        glowIn(): void {            this.mGame.tweens.removeFrom(this.mGlow);            this.mGame.add.tween(this.mGlow).to({ alpha: 1 }, 250, Phaser.Easing.Sinusoidal.In, true);        }        // -------------------------------------------------------------------------        glowOut(): void {            this.mGame.tweens.removeFrom(this.mGlow);            this.mGame.add.tween(this.mGlow).to({ alpha: 0 }, 250, Phaser.Easing.Sinusoidal.In, true);        }

Everything works well, but I would like to ask:

- is "this.mGame.tweens.removeFrom(this.mGlow);" correct or the best way how to stop and remove tween? Sometimes when user is above button I have only to start new tween and sometimes if previous tween is still running I have to cancel it first,

- are there any memory issues with creating so much tweens (if user is moving with mouse a lot here and there)? I do not keep any reference to it - is it garbage collected?,

- is there any way how to stop and reuse/change tween data? I tried to stop tween and add another with .to/.from, but it only chained it if previous tween was not yet finished (I looked into examples where tweens are reused, but only when previous tween is finished)

Thanks, Tom

I'll throw in two cents.  This won't be a definitive answer but will offer some thoughts.