Newbie question: different ways to move an object

Maria

Hi everybody!

I am totally new to phaser and I try to learn it.

I have made the first tutorials and also looked at a lot of tutorials and the docs.

I try to make my first game, which simply should be a car which drives from right to left through the screen, and when player clicks it, it should drive faster.

I have managed to move the car across the screen via add.tween

But, however, when I try to speed it up via click, it does nothing. The click is counted but the car just continues. I managed only to get a weird behaviour that the car was moved few pixel forward like some game error.

(I tried, amongst others, this: sprite.body.acceleration.x = -1000; )

So, when I look at tutorials and forum threads, there are many ways used to move an sprite. I have seen via Tween, MovetoPointer and others.

I think my game concept so far is just not working and I think I have some basic information missing.

It would be great if somebody could explain me the different movement methods or point me to the right direction.

Thanks so much!

Hehe, I managed to animate my car and to tell them to accelerate.

This time I followed the instructions more clearly. In this example the movement is made via Tween, like this:

//  Here we create a tween on the sprite created above    var tween = game.add.tween(bot);    //  The object defines the properties to tween.    //  In this case it will move to x 600    //  The 6000 is the duration in ms - 6000ms = 6 seconds    tween.to({ x: 600 }, 6000);

But the acceleration is fired only when the car has arrived in its final place, not before. The counter counts correctly.

function listener (sprite) {    counter++;    console.log(counter);    sprite.body.acceleration.x = -1000; }

Why is this so? (In addition to my question above about the different movement methods) thanks