Best methodology for customizing ArcCamera or building a camera behaviour

croustibat

Hello Babylon devs,

I'm new to babylon, I used to develop on the Unity framework, but my need to build good webgl apps led me to focus on Babylon js. My experience on html5 and JS is quite low, though.

So, here is my need:

I want to make a camera rotate around a target with a mouse drag (let's say button 0) witch is exactly what arc camera does.

I want my camera to translate (both camera and target) on an horizontal plane while dragging the mouse (let's say button 2)

I want all the movements to be smoothed

What I would do using Unity:

I would parent the camera to a node called 'target'

Dragging mouse button 0->rotate the target node

Dragging mouse button 2->translate the target node

Smoothing could be done by rotating and translating a node called 'target command' instead of 'target', and every frame make rotation and translation of 'target' interpolated values between  the 'target'  values and the 'target command' ones.

My questions:

Is this design compatible with babylon js paradigms?

Is there a most straight forward way to do that such as customizing the ArcCamera?

What is the better way to get the mouse drag input?

Thanks!!

Hi croustibat and welcome to the forum! :)

If I understand you right, the arcRotateCamera can already do those things. Rotating (click and move the mouse - check), Panning (hold down CTRL and click and move the mouse - check)... and it's all smooth, isn't it? (can be adjusted with the camera.inertia value).

If that's not what you want let me know, because then I guess I misunderstood your question :P

Hi iiceman, thanks for your answer!

In fact, I completely missed the panning functionality since it doesn't seem to be in the documentation nor on the tutorial!

But it's almost perfect for me, the only problem is that I need to pan on a horizontal plane (the one intersecting the arccam target) instead of a plane parallel to the screen.