Persistent level state when exiting and re-entering (objects etc.)

remka

Hello all,

I am pretty new to Phaser, and am trying to build a simple platformer game.

There is no live version yet (the code needs a lot of refactoring, and is in *many* files), but I made a quick screencast if you are curious:

The user can go back and forth between each level using doors. For now every time the user enter a level, all the objects (only monsters for now) are recreated.

I was planning to add coins (or diamonds etc.) in each level, and was wondering what would be the best approach if I would like to make the state of each level persistent: if the player has already collected all the coins, the level would now be empty.

What I had in mind

- on entering a level, parse the tilemap objects and retrieve all objects matching the type "coin"

- put all these in an array

- copy this array in a global object ('levelState'), with a reference to the level they come from

- when a player grabs a coin, delete the reference to this coin from the global object

- when the player re-enters the level, check if a reference to this level exists in 'levelState'

- if it exists, render the coins from the 'levelState' object rather from the tilemap data

Would this be the correct approach? Any potential issues?

Is there another way to do it?

Thank you!

I am going to answer to myself, since I found a way that seems to work well enough – in case that's helpful for someone, or if maybe there is a better way :)

I started with the BasicGame object, which allows to keep things stored between different states. In the boot state, I created something looking like this:

BasicGame = {    visitedLevels: []};

Every time I load a new level, I check if the visitedLevels key is either empty, or matches something existing. 
If it is empty of there is not match, I set a value alreadyVisited to false, and create a new key:

BasicGame.visitedLevels.push({  levelName: 'theLevelName',  coins: []})