Animating generated sprites from within a group

gnarf

Hello,

I'm new to Phaser and Javascript but I'm slowly getting the hang of things. I ran into a problem while messing with the first tutorial ("Making your first game"). I'm trying to play through a sprite sheet based on the x velocity of each object created within a certain group. I've tried messing with all the values, changing the names of variables, etc. I searched the docs and looked for examples that were similar but the closest I got was finding the forEach method. I'm not sure if I'm using it correctly, though.

I created an enemies group and added a series of baddie objects to it. All of that works, but when I go to the update function to try and animate them, the console returns:

Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'play' of undefined.

Here's my code (I left out some things like collision checks because that all works correctly):

var baddie;function createBaddie() {	baddie = enemies.create(game.world.randomX, game.world.RandomY, 'baddie');	baddie.body.gravity.y = 300;	baddie.body.bounce.set(0.8);	baddie.body.velocity.x = Math.floor((Math.random() * 100) + 1);	baddie.body.collideWorldBounds = true;	baddie.animations.add('left', [0, 1], 10, true);	baddie.animations.add('right', [2, 3], 10, true);};// in the create functionenemies = game.add.group();enemies.enableBody = true;game.physics.arcade.enable(enemies);for (var i = 0; i < 5; i++) {	createBaddie();                //logging baddies to check what they're named        console.log(baddie);	};// in the update function (none of this works)enemies.forEach(function() {	if (baddie.body.velocity.x > 0) {		this.animation.play('right');		} else if (baddie.body.velocity.x < 0) {		this.animation.play('left');		}	}, this);

I'd appreciate any help I can get on this topic or how to do this in a better way. Thanks! 

Wrong forum! This is for Phaser 3 discussion

You only have one baddie, but you're trying to use this to refer to multiple enemies.