Help! drowning in game confusion

SilverMcFox

I'm just starting out with both phaser and javascript, so please forgive the seriously basic stuff I'm just not getting :-S

I suspect my problem stems from tutorials and examples loving to name the Phaser.Game instance as "game":

var game = new Phaser.Game(800,600,Phaser.AUTO);

Initially I was fine and thought I was flying with my coding... until I started modularising my code and attempted to make proper use of "this" in my different states.

I then started seeing a mish-mash of: 

game.<somePropertyorMethod> this.game.<theSamePropertyorMethodAgain>  this.<theSamePropertyorMethodYetAgain> 

sometimes even within the same method!!

Am I just an innocent (and yeah ok ok - finicky and pedantic) victim of example code being built from cut n paste code or am I missing a key piece of info (as in when its best to use which)?

Through trial and error I discovered the 3 call types above result in the same thing due to:

1. the variable "game" being used and declared at top level 

2. each state being automatically given a property called... drumroll... "game" (as well as some others such as "load", "world", "scale" etc.)

I know changing the property name to something else would be bonkers this far down the line, so my plea is simply to those who write examples and tutorials - please please please stop using a variable called "game" since it has (in combination with my stupidity) totally held me back in understanding wtf is going on... unless of course I'm still getting it wrong? :-S

To check whether I am... if I call 

myGame.state.start('mystified'); 

where myGame is the variable holding the Phaser.Game instance, and then reference "this" in the js file that holds the particular state object - what would "this" be? the Phaser.Game instance or the state object?   

Thanks, and again sorry if this is fundamental stuff I should know.