Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'alpha' of undefined

Bavragor

Hi,

I'm quite new at Phaser/Javascript so forgive me my newbie mistake but when the playGame function is triggered by clicking the button, the group (this.group) is supposed to fade out.

Yet I get the error Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'alpha' of undefined. I have almost the exact construction of code in a different Javascript file and there it does seem to work. So I'm totally at a loss here. Hopefully someone can help me out.

The code:

Main.Levels = function (game)
{
	this.game = game;
};

Main.Levels.prototype = 
{
	group: Phaser.Group,

create: function()
	{
		this.group = this.game.add.group();
		this.group.alpha = 0;

for(var i = 0; i < 9; i++)
		{
			var lvl = this.game.add.button(120 + (150 * (i % 3)), 270 + (150 * Math.floor(i / 3)), 'lvl' + (i+1));
			lvl.anchor = {x: 0, y: 0};
			lvl.orgWidth = 100;
			lvl.orgHeight = 100;
			lvl.name = i;

lvl.onInputUp.add(this.playGame, lvl);

this.group.add(lvl);
		}

var fade = this.game.add.tween(this.group);
    	fade.to({alpha: 1}, 300);
    	fade.start();
	},

playGame: function()
	{
		var fade = this.game.add.tween(this.group);
		fade.to({alpha: 0}, 300);
		fade.start();
	}
}

Sorry for the lack of details.

As you can see I'm creating 9 buttons in my create function. To each button I'm adding an eventlistener on inputUp and I'm adding them to this.group. This group is fading in at the loading of the state. So far no problems.

When the eventlistener is triggered, aka when I'm clicking on one of the 9 buttons, the group of buttons is supposed to fade out. Yet that's the exact moment when I get the error: ' Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'alpha' of undefined '. In the chrome console it claims to be an 'error' in the following line:  fade.to({alpha: 0}, 300);  (in the playGame function). Yet I cannot see any spelling mistake/common error.