Lawnmower concept

ogramp

(PS, I'm new to Phaser, so this might as well be a dumb question but I'm still asking :D )

I am trying to create a lawnmower game with Phaser where you basically drive around top-down view and cut grass.

I got something working and at the moment I use bitmap data object to paint a circle of light green color (short grass) on top of the background color that is supposed to be the tall grass. 

Now the problem is that grass is not just a solid green colored area. It needs texture. Putting texture on the background seems easy and tall grass is then textured. But running around and painting with bitmap data object I don't see a way to do so that it would leave a texture as a trail.

Does anyone have a good idea how to do it or something they can point me to.

var game = new Phaser.Game(500, 375, Phaser.AUTO, 'phaser-example', { 
    preload: preload, 
    create: create
});

var sprite;
var mask;

function preload() {

game.load.image('shortgrass', 'assets/img/grass.jpg');

}

function create() {
    shortgrass = game.add.sprite(0, 0, 'shortgrass');

mask = game.add.graphics(0, 0);
    mask.beginFill(0x000000);
    mask.drawCircle(0, 0, 1);

shortgrass.mask = mask;

game.input.addMoveCallback(move, this);
}

function move(pointer, x, y) {
    mask.drawCircle(x, y, 50);
}

So I tried this masking thing, and it almost works as I want to. For some reason it works only for some time and then turns weird. I suspect it might be because I draw to mask every move of the cursor and maybe that is too much? 

It's weird because all I actually do is paint mask graphic and through that I expose the sprite of shortgrass. Why would it stop working mid drawing?

Can someone see something totally wrong here? 

I attached two images. The green grass is a sprite with a mask applied to it. I draw the mask every time I move the mouse. But every time at some point it freaks out, some weird lines appear and it stops drawing the mask.

normal.png

weird.png