Maverton

Hello seasoned developers I'm a newbie but have a strong passion on building my first project using Babylon. As a newbie I find it hard to ask the right question because lack of knowledge/terms that most developer use (I'm working on that). So this is my first project and I haven't made any progress with just creating scenes in Babylon that load correctly which I tested a couple of times. So now I would like to ask what is the process of getting started?

I'm using 3ds max exporter plugin/button and thanks to some advise I receive from one of my post I can import to Babylon.  My next question is about the workflow 

1. If I don't have lights in my scene in 3ds max is that the reason it not showing when I export to Babylon

2. Should I render my scene in 3ds max before I export to Babylon

3. Is there anybody with experience willing to show me the basic

Thanks for reading my post

Hi Maverton,

Welcome to the community :)

Answer to your 3rd question - There are many tutorials online! I would first start with the official http://doc.babylonsjs.com and take it from there. There are beginners tutorials and more advanced tutorials once you understand the basics.

Any question you have will be answered here gladly, especially if you show us where you are stuck. 

To answer your other questions:

1) yep, probably :) If you see black objects, it is because of lights

2) no, Babylon is in charge of rendering. It might look a bit different due to the power of 3ds compared to the different way WebGL ( and Babylon.js) are rendering the scene, but at the beginning I guess you won't really notice a major difference.

• 2 weeks later...

@RaananW