My Experiences with Phaser, and Hopes for Lazer

carystanley

This is my first post to this forum. First I wanted to say that Phaser.js is really awesome. To see all the different things people have build with it, and to see Rich and others so active on the forum helping each other. I think it really is the best opensource HTML5 game framework out there! I'd like to share my experience, and hurdles learning Phaser, and hopes for Lazer.

So I'm a Software Engineer by employment, but game development is this hobby I am just starting to cultivate. I did a lot of research looking at the different game frameworks our there. Unfortunately, many allow you to write a platformer game with just a few lines of code, but can't do much more. After looking at what was out there, Melon.js and Phaser.js seemed the most promising. But when I found our Melon.js had deprecated tilemap collision, I sadly gave up on it. Phaser, on the other hand had a large feature set and allowed you to choose the way you wanted to render, or the physics/collision detection you wanted to use. It had tons of examples, and I was building little demos in no time. So I thought, its time for me to build a full fledged game, so I started trying to build a Earthbound clone.

One of my first hurdles came as a surprise. I was originally drawn to Phaser for its sloped tile-based collisions in Ninja Physics. But soon I learned Ninja Physics was sort of a 2nd-class citizen. It was missing a lot of functionality, and it actually had no spacial optimization (you are literally checking every tile, good luck with a large map). Also, you have to compile a custom package to use it (took me a while to figure this out). Tried the old slope for arcade physics plugin, didn't work, but I'm hopeful for the new one (http://phaser.io/news/2016/05/phaser-arcade-slopes-plugin).