Newbie from Blender

Richard C

I have come across Babylon.js in recent days having discarded three.js, clara.io, sketchfab, and a few others as I think Babylon looks like what I need to get my finished Blender models onto our website/ social media etc. I am not a professional designer/web developer but more a fairly enthusiastic amateur learning new skills for my company's benefit. I have successfully export the mesh objects into Babylon but haven't had quite the same success with Blender Internal materials (cycles materials definitely don't work!).

I an acquainted with HTML, CSS and JavaScript but wouldn't consider myself accomplished yet. I have started to work my way through the documentation/tutorials/videos etc to come up to steam with WebGL/OpenGL etc but would like to 'practice' using copies of my models rather than just primitives. I would like to get to the relevant tutorials/documentation first. Could someone point me in the direction of workflow from here, particularly creating new or modifying the exported BI materials which haven't been exported as I expected or would like. Do I use the Babylon Mesh Editor or Materials Editor. If the latter then

1. how do I get the exported materials into the editor?

2. can I create a library for use on the second model which shares a number of common materials/textures?

3. how are materials created in the materials editor and presumably stored in a materials library referenced in site HTML  

I am sure I can find the answer to these questions by ploughing through the tutorials/documentation but I would like a little fast track help to find them please. Any other pointers/hints/tips will be gratefully received.

Many thanks in advance

Richard C

@Richard C : Welcome to the form Richard.  Good to see another Blender user. :)

You are right that :

cycles materials definitely don't work!

But you can get around that by baking your cycles materials to a texture.  This is an example I posted in the Demo Forum :