PointLight shadow generator uses activeCamera.maxZ instead of light.range -- bug?

BeanstalkBlue

I noticed that the shadow generator for point lights sets the shadow generator camera matrix using the activeCamera.maxZ (in .setShadowProjectionMatrix()).

It should really use the point light's range, to have better depth z accuracy since there are no shadows further than the light's range anyway.

It is also using the activeCamera.minZ, which is too far (at least in my case) for the shadows, and causes light bleeding.

Can I set this or do I need to override the setShadowProjectionMatrix function like this:

BABYLON.PointLight.prototype.setShadowProjectionMatrix = function (){
            [...]
        }

Or is there a better way?

If I am right then I would submit a PR but I am new to Babylon (and Javascript and Typescript) so I thought it is better to ask here instead and let you guys fix it since it is a 1 line change in BabylonJS code.

What I am trying to say is that the Babylon.js function here:

public setShadowProjectionMatrix(matrix: Matrix, viewMatrix: Matrix, renderList: Array<AbstractMesh>): PointLight {
            var activeCamera = this.getScene().activeCamera;
            Matrix.PerspectiveFovLHToRef(Math.PI / 2, 1.0, activeCamera.minZ, activeCamera.maxZ, matrix);
            return this;
        }

Should be this:

public setShadowProjectionMatrix(matrix: Matrix, viewMatrix: Matrix, renderList: Array<AbstractMesh>): PointLight {
            Matrix.PerspectiveFovLHToRef(Math.PI / 2, 1.0, this.range/1000.0, this.range, matrix);
            return this;
        }

Unless I am missing something?

"activeCamera" is not the shadow generator's camera, it is the camera that the player sees the world through, right?

I think you are right:
Just patched my version of babylon with your code, and shadows become much clearer. Much better now! Thanks!
(My camera MaxZ was 20000)

This is not the only problem with point light shadows btw.