Desktop HTML5 games publishers

umatheusg

Hello there! I'm an aspiring HTML5 games developer and I'm currently working on a single-player RTS for desktops. The only publisher out there that I know that'd buy games like that is Armor Games. There will be probably about 7 missions, involving getting resources, defending from enemy waves, exploring, trading and attacking enemy tribes. Looks like that so far:

https://i.imgur.com/2x7mOzS.gif

---

zIrJnAy.gif

I'd like to know from you, more experienced developers, if that could get some love from publishers and if there's any other publisher looking for desktop games. I couldn't find anyone. Also, I see that most games have vector graphics and another game of mine got rejected by a publisher because they wanted games with "high quality graphics". I'm not really sure if that was a problem for them, they just sent a list of things they were looking for in a game and it was an item. So, do you think I can stick with what I can do or just hire someone to make swf sprites?

Thanks in advance! :)

Hi, I can't speak for publishers but those graphics look great, I love that style and you've absolutely nailed it. That short clip shows the game is really responsive, and looks great.

If I'm being cynical then I'd say publishers don't actually care about quality, they'd rather a game made them money (which means that, at least as a by-product, some level of quality is required). You could make a terrific game, better than 99% of others out there, but if its niche, or if the publishers don't think it'll get too many plays (i.e. make them money) then you'll have to shop around for someone to publish it for you or publish it yourself.

Personally I love that style and I wish there were more games out there like this.