Where to start as a beginner?

Clms

Hello!

I am an absolut beginner to these topics here so I hope that my newbie questions are tolerated here. I am looking forward learning a lot!

My idea was to animate objects on my website with a physics engine. Simple things like dragging objects and throwing them around.
Therefore I looked into matter.js which seemed learnable. But I never found examples with real graphics, only simple shapes.
So I started to look into this and a whole new world opened. So here I am now with my questions that I couldn't find an answer yet:

My goal is to create simple objects to interact with on my website. Like I said grabbing and throwing them around.
The next step would be a balloon attached to a rope hovering where you can push the balloon around with the mouse.

Which tools should I concentrate on to achieve results like those?
It is important for me that I can use images / textures (for example for the balloon) as well as "custom shapes" for the objects I want to throw around.
All the physic engine examples I have seen so far are based on rectangles, squares, etc. But how could I use the shape of an tree (not only the texture but also the shape which interacts with other objects)?

Maybe pixi.js with an physics engine? Or is phaser the easiest way to go? Or is there something even better?

Thanks a lot in advance!

Best,
Clms

A physics engine is usually comprised of 2 main parts in order to work: the physics engine and the rendering engine. In my view these should be separate but they are often punted together.