Question about touching.down

ZRT

Hello guys,

I recently started playing around with Phaser and I'm loving it so much. I have a question about touching.down and how it actually works. I assume one object has to 'touch' another when you define a collision. But I'm having a trouble getting this to work.

I have this code below, and it doesn't seem to work at all. Console logging 'p.body.touching.down' returns false. I have my player sprite loaded on top of a platform. I have their collision set in the update function like most of the tutorials and examples suggest (  game.physics.collide(p, platforms); ). Practically, I've been following examples and figuring it out by myself, but this stucked me a bit.

if (cursors.up.isDown && p.body.touching.down) {    console.log("JUMP");    p.body.velocity.y = -100;  }

I can make the 'jump' if I remove && p.body.touching.down, but I can't limit it.

P.S. Is there a different approach to getting the player to jump?

Thank you!

Here's the full code:

var game = new Phaser.Game(800, 600, Phaser.CANVAS, '', {preload: preload, create: create, update: update});var p; var cursors;var platforms; function preload() {  game.load.image('player','images/player.png');  game.load.image('tile', 'images/tile.png');}function create () {    p = game.add.sprite(0, 500, 'player');    p.body.collideWorldBounds = true;  platforms = game.add.group();  var ground = platforms.create(0, game.world.height - 50, 'tile');  ground.body.immovable = true;  cursors = game.input.keyboard.createCursorKeys();}function update ()   game.physics.collide(p, platforms);  p.body.velocity.x = 0;  if (cursors.left.isDown) {    console.log("GO LEFT");    p.body.velocity.x = -100;  }  else if (cursors.right.isDown) {    console.log("GO RIGHT");    p.body.velocity.x = 100;  }  // jump  if (cursors.up.isDown && p.body.touching.down) {    console.log("JUMP");    p.body.velocity.y = -100;  }}