Collision Without A Sprite?

Nebulocity

Is it possible to create boundaries that sprites can collide with, without actually giving those boundaries a sprite themselves?

My dilemma is that while I know what JSON is, I have never used it before.  I do not have "tiles" to use, so a tileset or tilemap are of little use to me.  What want to do is to have my player and baddies move through a maze, but not be able to walk through/over the walls in the maze.  The only thing that I can think of to do this would be, since the background image is technically a sprite, create a bunch of bounding boxes for each of the sprite walls.  But before going through this painstaking process, I wanted to see if someone else had a better idea (other than give up :huh: ).

It's an overhead style game, similar to the original Zelda game, and my monster movement code is listed below.  The problem that I'm afraid that I might have, is that I'm essentially "teleporting" the baddies to their new destination (moving 50 pixels every 3 seconds), instead of "walking" there.  Am I going about this all wrong?