Integrating scrolling into a toolbar for a phaser 'map editor' game

zack_falcon

This is my first time integrating any outside source into my phaser project, so please bear with me. Also, if there's anything that's unclear (regarding errors), lemme know so I can update this. For the first question, please check my steps below if I imported them right:

1. Navigate into base project directory in a terminal, type in npm i / install "scroll-plugin-of-your-choice-here"
  2. Watch a lot of text scroll by (Mostly warnings)
  3. Find the folder in the node_modules directory of my project, copy the required file from the dist folder into my folders (this one is called: plugins)
  4. Import the required file in JS files that will use it
  5. ???
  6. Profit

I've tried three so far. This is the first one, heard good things about it: http://jdnichollsc.github.io/Phaser-Kinetic-Scrolling-Plugin/

I couldn't even get past step 4 tho. Assuming it doesn't need importing, it appears my project structure is different enough (more on this later), that I'm not entirely sure where to put the "load plug-in code"; putting it in my game.js (the JS file that is called by the HTML file) gets me a "Cannot read property 'plugins' of undefined". Putting it in the 'create' function of my boot.js (the first Phaser state started) gets me a "Cannot set property 'game' of undefined".

That pretty much ends it. Also, I read it uses the camera, so I'm not sure if it was the way to go anyway. I have two things to scroll: the toolbar, and map itself.

The second one is this: https://github.com/mattcolman/phaser-list-view

It appeared to have clearer instructions than the first one, regarding import and usage. Unfortunately, there is some sort of 'Promise' code in the source, which to my limited experience is only used in async functions. This one fails outright, and throws an error the moment the game is loaded: "Cannot read property 'Promise' of undefined"