Server-sided map with Node.js?

Kaeru

I'm quite new to programming with javascript and somewhat new to object-oriented programming in general. I'm trying to create a simple online game using Node.js and Socket.io. I want to use a map system (ideally using the Tiled editor) that can read TMX or JSON files. At first I found Phaser and while the interface is great, I've heard that it's not a good idea to use it for server-sided programming. So I have a couple questions to ask you guys:

1. Are there any tutorials, examples or libraries that can help me parse a TMX/JSON file created with Tiled and use it for my server map? What is the easiest way to go about doing this without the help of Phaser?

2. I've noticed that WebGL seems a lot faster than the HTML canvas. Are there any resources that can help me understand how to use it, or should I stick to using canvas? I know Phaser has this built in, but it seems silly to use it just to render graphics.   

I'd really appreciate any suggestions you guys have. 

These are super questions.

Phaser is indeed a client side library, as it primarily handles audio/visual and user input that is no surprise (it also has various other helpers such as a state machine and some app logic stuff that might be useful elsewhere, but, largely, its client specific). There have been some efforts to get it running on the server, I'm not too sure on the use case (might just be for testing) but I don't think there was resounding success. I'd assume you can pull bits out of it you wanted elsewhere though.