Recommended way to get time between last frames in Observables? (i.e. deltaTime)

ShiftedClock

I'm new to Babylon, and am trying to determine how to use Observables for game logic in a frame rate independent way. I may be approaching this incorrectly, because there are many parts of Babylon that I'm unfamiliar with, such as Behaviours and Animations (so it may be an XY problem). Help would be much appreciated.

In most game engines there's some deltaTime object, but I haven't been able to find anything similar to deltaTime in Babylons docs.

In this example an observer is created that increments a global var alpha by 0.01 each frame. Ideally that would be alphaChange * deltaTime. I'm just not sure where such a deltaTime object lives in Babylon.

If I add a parameter to the observer's callback (i.e. function (parameter) {...}) I see that it actually passes the scene into the callback. So is there a way to get deltaTime from the scene object?

I've looked at the SceneInstrumentation object, but I'm not sure it's the right place to be looking. There's even references to deltaTime in Scene.useConstantAnimationDeltaTime.

Three.js has a built-in Clock that serves this purpose, so I implemented my own based on it. But when using it for animating properties in Babylon I get very noticeable stuttering.

Any insight would be much appreciated.

Welcome to the forum!.  deltaTime is available on the engine:
http://doc.babylonjs.com/api/classes/babylon.engine#getdeltatime
http://doc.babylonjs.com/api/classes/babylon.scene#getengine

scene.getEngine().getDeltaTime()

I've never needed to go to this level for animations.  Can you share your animation code as a playground?  I have multiple smooth animations running simultaneously without any low level coding, but not sure what you are animating.

Thank you so much. I'm just animating properties of objects, like so, in createSphere.js:

let sphere = new BABYLON.MeshBuilder.CreateSphere("sphere", {diameter: 2}, scene);