DOF

Rodrix3

I am trying to use the dof postprocess which has the following parameters:

pipeline.depthOfField.focusDistance  

pipeline.depthOfField.focalLength pipeline.depthOfField.fStop 

My scene is about 1000 units long and I would like to have all near objects in blur, and all distance objects completely sharp (bokeh effect).

I tried many combinations of parameters, but unfortunately none render the result I want; and since I have zero knowledge on professional photography I would love to have some help! :)

Could anyone advise me or at least explain how those parameters work (on babylon or on a real camera)!

Thanks in advance :)

14 hours ago, Rodrix3 said:

Could anyone advise me or at least explain how those parameters work (on babylon or on a real camera)!

I think your units are a lot.  At least in VR every unit is a meter.  I used to play a lot with bokeh effect on my camera.  Basically the lower your aperture is then your depth of focus decreases a lot, which can have some nice effects.  ie: far/near distance of field of focus decreases (ie: shallow depth of field in camera terms), but the *distance* depends on focal length.  Faster shutter speeds in low light, but sometimes even with nose in focus the ears can be blurry - I have an F1.4 lens very sharp and crazy bokeh.  Anyway on a real camera the settings are different.  Have a look at this PG - there are GUI sliders to see the effects:
https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#THBCNW#9

On 7/28/2018 at 2:50 PM, brianzinn said: