Understanding pixi-particles

kirabook

Hello everyone. I have a few questions related to a project I'm working on and there's one area I keep getting stopped up on and I can't seem to wrap my head around it. I'll be sharing code for it, but I also want to warn you that I'm pretty new to pixi so there might be all kinds of wrong things here and there that could be contributing to this issue. 

The project is pretty simple. A series of panels appearing in sequence to look like a comic book. There will be some animation here, some music there. Voice clips, etc etc. For the most part (save optimizing it probably), everything is going pretty swell. 

http://kirasandbox.com/gohi/

(If an image is missing, you see a blank page, or a hostgator namespace error pops up, you should be able to just refresh until it decides to spit out the right page. I just bought this domain so that I didn't have to share the actual domain for my project. It's password locked and would be bothersome to have people view it that way)

There's the overall stage, the 'game'. Then the layers inside are layered containers:

- page 

-- panels

--- sprites (along with the aforementioned music and sfx, I've muted music and voiceovers for this. The text is being put on the DOM).

For each panel, I wanted to be able to add a weather effect. Using the snow and rain examples (I'm using snow to test and it's colored green: https://pixijs.io/pixi-particles/examples/snow.html ), I technically got it working, but... with each new panel, the speed of the emitter seems to increase. To be honest, I don't think I implemented my idea correctly at all and I haven't been able to fix this. I'm kind of just feeling around the dark hoping to hit jackpot. 

I think it has something to do with this: 

var update = function(){

// Update the next frame
			updateId = requestAnimationFrame(update);

var now = Date.now();
			if (emitter)
				emitter.update((now - elapsed) * 0.001);