Guess Who game

davidVM

Hello everyone!

My name is David and I like geocaching. My hobby is the reason for this post and I hope you can direct me in the right way.

I want to create a Guess Who game which should have following features:

• Cards are shown in a grid (doesn't need to be at random);
  • User can flip a card from front to back (and from back to front) by clicking/tapping it;
  • Flipping cards: the front should be an image (face) and the back the corresponding name and a code;
  • If a user refreshes his browser the state of the cards (front/back) should stay the same (for 24h);
  • A reset button for resetting all cards to the front state.

I googled for examples, but have difficulties in finding relevant information. 

Which language should I use? My initial idea was to use jQuery (and CSS/HTML) but I don't know if that's the right technology to save the states of cards.

And do you have interesting information/examples to inspire me? I have some knowledge and can probably tie the ends together.

Thanks in advance.

jQuery won't help with saving the state of the cards, but a DOM-based approach (as opposed to a canvas based approach that most games here adopt) would sound perfect for this sort of thing. The DOM makes laying out a grid reasonably easy, transitions to flip cards using CSS is also pretty easy, and its easier to get a responsive experience across different device sizes (and orientations) is easier with the DOM.

jQuery would be fine if you go that route, but, I'd suggest you don't need it now. Cross-browser issues are far less of a problem than they were so jQuery's usefulness is diminished. There are also better ways to structure a DOM based UI, such as React, Vue, multiple React-likes or Angular, but they will all require far more learning, you'd be fine for this project just using vanilla JS.

You can save state in the browser using a few different methods: