Grouping Confusion

silversteez

Hey all,

I’m new to Phaser and have been trying to figure something out. I’m trying to bundle a few sprites and bits of text into a group (say, to make a dynamically generated ‘card’ for a card game like MTG), but I’m running into a number of headaches because groups…well, they don’t work quite the way I expected them to, I guess.

Groups don’t seem to have a lot of the convenience methods that sprites have, for example. Dragging a group as a unit (my ‘card’ described above) seems to require custom code which, while totally fine, just surprised me. Seems like it would be nice to have a ‘group’ or empty ‘gameObject’ that could have a collider and then just add sprites and text to that. Then I’d have all of the nice things that sprites have like events and dragging, etc. Just feels like I have to do quite a bit of trickery from the get-go to get my grouped object to work nicely.

Not trying to poopoo on groups - I can see that they offer a lot of benefits in their current implementation - for sorting, collisions, etc. It seems like they weren’t really built with the intention of behaving like I thought they ought to. I guess I’m just wondering if I’m approaching this wrong or missing something? Has anyone come up with a good way to achieve what I’m describing above with my ‘card’ combo-group-object thing?

Thanks very much!

- Matt

For dragging things around as a single card, you can have the base of the card as a Phaser.Sprite, and add the images and text to that using the addChild function.

Then you just do all the input handling on the base sprite, and the rest moves with it.

Wow, thanks! I've looked at a bunch of tutorials and the official examples, searched through the docs and this forum, and this is the first I've heard of this.