Babylonjs and Flask

hortscot

Hello,

I'm pretty new to BabylonJs. I have created a few simple applications with it. What I want to do in this current project is be able to integrate babylonjs and flask microframework. I am much more familiar with python, flask and sqlalchemy etc. than I am similar javascript frameworks. I had set up some babylonjs code for visualizing a 3D model on a webpage using html, css, and javascipt only. I use ImportMesh to load the gltf (or glb) model into the scene. This works fine as I want. I have been problems migrating this to a flask app format. I tried three different ways and each time I have hit problems. I will describe each below.

1. Use ImportMesh just like I did for the 'plain' html, css and javascript:

I tried to incorporate my existing html, css, and javasript files in a simple flask directory structure / simple app i.e. where my html, css, and javascript are in subdirectories to a main app.py file - exactly how I would set up any flask app. Every time I do that I get a notification saying that the model file (.gltf or .glb) can't be found and it throws a 404 error in the console. I've tried multiple different ways to define the path to the model file but it continues to throw this error.

2. Use babylon and model html tags instead:

I then got rid of the javascript file altogether and I simply used the babylon and model html tags in my html to define the model rather than trying to import the model using ImportMesh. This works fine. The issue here is when i tried to control the css and add some actions to the css (or similar in javascript) like repositioning the container when I click a button it doesn't seem to work like the tutorial showed in the documentation.

3. I then tried to define my gltf as a text string.