Unable to Access Object Properties in Phaser

LeDenzel

I'm pretty new to coding, and totally new to Phaser, so most of my knowledge comes from the Codecademy lessons.

For the snippet below, I copied the layout from one of the lesson materials and made adjustments as necessary.

//player information
gameState.player = {
   name: 'maleHero',                           //property for the name
   health: 100,                                //starting amount of health
   canAttack: true,                            //saves whether the player is able to attack
   frames: [{                                  //save animation frames
      key: 'idle',                                //custom key for the frame
      start: 0,                                   //custom start frame
      end: 3,                                     //custom end frame
      frameRate: 7,                               //custom frame rate
   },
   {
      key: 'move',
      start: 8,
      end: 15,
      frameRate: 15,
   },
   {
      key: 'attack',
      start: 16,
      end: 24,
      frameRate: 15,
   }],
};

This allows me to create the animations more cleanly, using this code:

//animation handler
gameState.player.frames.forEach(frame => {                           //pulls each frame
   this.anims.create({                                               //creates animations
      key: frame.key,                                                //pulls the given key
      frames: this.anims.generateFrameNumbers(gameState.player.name, { //generates the frames
         start: frame.start,                                         //pulls the given start frame
         end: frame.end,                                             //pulls the given end frame
      }),
      frameRate: frame.frameRate,                                    //pulls the given frame rate
      repeat: -1,                                                    //should repeat infinitely