Performance advice and basic concepts

ShoemakerSteve

Hello, I'm brand new to the world of graphics programming and just starting to jump into Pixi.js for a personal hobby project I'm starting. The documentation for Pixi however seems very scarce though, especially for v5, so I'm kind of having trouble knowing where to start. 

To keep it simple, my project is essentially Conway's Game of Life, though I'll be adding more onto it after I get my performance sorted out. Basically it's a grid with squares, and the squares can either be black or white depending on their state (alive or dead, respectively). The game runs fine at a full 60 fps for smaller grids, but if I try a 150x200 square grid, the performance degrades quite a bit. And I actually want to go quite further than that, with maybe 1000 x 1000 if that's even possible. I'm using Graphics to draw the squares using the same instance and calling clear() on each frame, but honestly my implementation isn't really the point of this post, I'm more interested in what you would do.

So that said, I'll be asking two things:

• What are the best options for rendering a large number of squares that are all the same, but with different colours depending on their state? Any common performance pitfalls to watch out for?
    • Considerations:
      • They will very often switch back and forth on each frame, but a large portion of the grid might stay static half or more of the time
      • I would ideally not write a custom shader, because I don't know how to do that or what a shader is

• Can you give a rundown of when to use Graphics, Sprites, Textures, and Meshes? And maybe what they are?

If I were to try and explain what I think they are, I would say:

• Graphics: Draws shapes and lines
  • Sprites: Represents an "actor" on the stage, textures are used to represent them
  • Textures: Basically images that sprites use for visuals?
  • Mesh: Combines many textures? I'm not actually sure