use multiColorReplaceFilter on multiple sprites

Josh Crokuis

Hello, I'm new to Pixi.js and practice to create games.

I've created a lot of same Sprites(1,000 numbers of small svg) on a container with viewport so that I can move the container around.

I would like to change two colors each Sprites have by using MultiColorReplaceFilter.

However, when the filter works, the performance get slower obviously.

I've tried several things like autoFit, resolution, and filterArea and it might not work or maybe couldn't manage to do it properly.

Is there any thing I can do to make it better/faster to render?

2 hours ago, Exca said:

I meant how the code is. Is it like this?

// Somewhere in scene setup
const filter = new MultiColorFilter(...);
container.filters = [filter];
container.filterArea = renderer.screen;

Also if you enable colormatrixfilter here does it slowdown? http://filters.pixijs.download/dev/demo/index.html

ye, similarly. Seemingly looks like,

const filter = new MultiColorReplaceFilter([[0xb7ffee, 0xFF00FF], [0x6ae0a1, 0x00FFFF]], 0.3)
filter.autoFit = true
filter.resolution = 0.001
view.filterArea = new Rectangle(0, 0, view.width, view,height) // view is another container for viewport
const block = new Sprite({filter: this.filter}) // MultiColorReplaceFilter

container.addChild(block)
app.stage.addChild(container)...

I haven't tried to use colorMatrixFilter yet. It uses RGB colors, right? Do you possibly think filter itself works better or color code does?

Resolution of 0.001 means that your shader size is filterArea.width * resolution (increased to power of two). Using 1 as resolution is good unless you know that you need higher / lower resolution. But 0.001 is something that would not work correctly unless you have a very niche case (no idea what that case could be).

Also are you applying the filter to all the blocks? If so that will make it very very slow. You should apply it only to the container.