Tween along custom paths

markp

I'm pretty new to Phaser.  Started on 1.6 and just moved to 2.0 and think it is a great framework.  I used CAAT animation toolkit in the past and liked the ability to set paths for sprites to follow. 

The feature allowed me to setup a bezier curve with specific parameters so that by changing the parameters I could get a sprite to follow a different curve.

Using Phaser v2.0 I thought I might be able to do the same using:

tween.to(pos, 5000, Phaser.Easing.Exponential.InOut, false).interpolation(Phaser.Math.bezierInterpolation).start()

The movement from the code above looks linear rather than curved.  So my question is how do I get a sprite to move along a bezier path that I can also configure the parameters of the bezier curve?

• 2 months later...

A bezier spline is actually a function of TWO one-dimensional bezier interpolations, one for X and one for Y, both iterated over a "time", or in your case, over the deltaX for the one dimension and the deltaY for the other. To get a smooth curve, you must apply bezierInterpolation to your coordinates, a third bezier function can then be used to go over the resulting curve smoothly. 

As far as I can tell from the code, Phaser.math.bezierInterpolation(v, k) takes an array of numeric values for v (the docs say "Number", but the code handles multi-dimensional input), and a numeric value for k (which is basically the amount of easing). 

But I tried to implement it and it threw me a TypeError in Phaser.Math.bernstein (where this.factorial is called, and that doesn't seem to be defined anywhere in Phaser).

So I can tell you about the theory, but I can't offer a working example.

Here's my test code for anyone who wants to take a crack at it: