Help with poor mobile browser performance

owen

Hi.

I'm still a newbie so please forgive the vagueness of this.  I have been testing my work-in-progress game on various PC browsers and it seems to perform well enough on most.  Chrome is best followed by FF.  Even IE has reasonable performance so I am fairly happy that things are OK with PC users.  (Obviously depending on the users graphics capability etc). However last night I tried it on a mobile (Saumsung Note 3 with Chrome) and a tablet (Samsung Galaxy Tab with Chrome).  The performance dreadfully slow (unusable actually) but worse still the physics was broken, specifically the collision detection simply wasn't happening and sprites were falling through floors and walls etc.

On the plus side I got Phaser to easily detect touch screen and implemented some on-screen control buttons very nicely.

Has anybody encountered similar issues?  Is there anything I should be doing to improve performance when running the game on a mobile device?  

For example should I use CANVAS instead of AUTO?

Thanks,

Owen

Hi Owen,

I presume it's Mr. Goggles that you're having issues with? Just stuck the game on my Samsung Galaxy S4, and ran it through the Chrome profiler. Each frame is indeed taking around 500ms (2 fps). The CPU profiler shows a lot of QuadTree operations (especially insert()), which sounded like expensive collision detection.

Sure enough, you have several tens of game.physics.arcade.collide() calls in your gaming loop, which is the cause of your performance problem. Perhaps you could use a lighter weight collision detection system, rather than a full-blown physics engine, and also make an intelligent decision about which objects really need collision detection.