Help with sprite children and shooting

TimTation

Hello all!

I have been messing around with Phaser and have made a small start to a game by playing with some source-code from the space hipster tutorial.

I have a top down character animated with a sprite-sheet and am now working on using code from the "shoot the pointer" Phaser example to add a rotating child sprite that shoots, onto my animation of a walking body. My code works fine if I treat the rotating shooting sprite and walking animated body separately, but as soon as I add the shooting sprite onto the walking body as a child the code breaks down. I am rather new to Phaser and game dev so I apologize in advance if I am missing something obvious.

here is the code for my main game state

(as I said the child adding seems to mess things up but I wouldn't be surprised if it was something else I am no aware of...)