Entity Systems : have you used them in HTML5 game dev ?

Ezelia

Hello everyone,

I started playing with the so called Entity Systems or Entity Component Systems.
(If you don't know what's an ES read this article http://alecmce.com/library/why-use-entity-systems-for-game-engineering witch explain in a clever approach what should be an Entity System and what makes it so different from OOP)

for those who used them, do you think they can be suitable for HTML5 games ?

I made a quick and simple code and from a first viewpoint the system is incredibelly flexible and easy to maintain/add features .

but I don't know if the performance will follow if I use this on a real game ...

In our game, we're currently using the OOP for entities. So far, we're doing well with it, from a design perspective, though I start to see the point of entity component systems.

Concerning performance, I could actually imagine, that an ECS might be more efficient then OOP, at least for V8.

Google had a very interesting video about optimizing JavaScript for V8: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XAqIpGU8ZZk

One important statement: in order for objects to be optimized, they must not excess a certain number of properties.

When using OOP, you tend to have objects with a large number of properties per object, so certain optimizations of V8 simply might not trigger.

This is all guessing, but I had one experience that was quite interesting and might be related to this optimization:

Originally, the rendering of our game was based directly on our entities. However, since this resulted into cluttered code, I decided to introduce "sprite" objects, that are created from entities, and perform the rendering code exclusively on sprites. This was obviously connected with some overhead, since each entity had to create sprites (at least on construction) and copy over some properties that are relevant for rendering.

However, to my surprise, the resulting code was actually slightly faster than the previous.