[HTML5 Novice] Creating games for a profit, online interaction?

christian.tucker

I've been programming for a couple of years now, although mostly in Java and C#. I have experience with almost every decent networking API there is when it comes to these languages. However I've never really thought about making games. Well, I have, but I've never really decided to see an idea through until now.

I've written out a fairly large game-plan, and while it's not a "MMO" it could very easily be one. It's not based around a large amount of content or fancy graphics. It's not even 3D. The idea was to create a cross-platform game that could be enjoyed between everyone. 

I'm sure everyone has heard of wartune, so I'll be using it as an example. The idea is similar. A small open-world in which you can attack other players in an automated battle, an arena system, building and upgrading a base, etc. However, I have a ton of key components to make it completely different from any other game that I've ever seen before, and it's all written on paper.

I have a pretty solid monetization plan for the game as-well, while keeping the game-play fair, and not favoring the people who can just toss money at nothing. 

---

Anyhow, I'm beginning to wonder if HTML5 would be a good place to start with this project, obviously if I use HTML5 the server is going to have to be completely authoritative (Like it should be to begin with) as the client source code is going to be available. My other options are to use Unity (which I have previous experience with) and writing a stateless server to handle requests. (I feel that a stated connection isn't necessary for a project like this, until you get into multi-player rendering, etc, which I'm not going to worry about in early stages.)