Update vertices of a Box

Colmea

Hello,

It's my first post, so thank you for your awesome work on Babylon.js. I come from Three.js, and I hope my journey here will be good !

Let me explain the situation:

I need to create a custom 6 faces polygon. I decided to start from a Babylon Box, and then update vertices position. It was easy on Three.js, but seems harder on Babylon. I have some questions:

1) What's the order of the vertices position ? It looks like the first vertice is on the back face, in the bottom right side, and the second one bottom left. Is it normal or am I doing something wrong ?

2) Why are there two vertices for a same 3D position ? In other words, why can't we share a vertex for several faces ? It's really complicated to have 24 vertices for a single box. 8 vertices are not enough ? (I'm not an expert at all, I guess there's a reason. Again, in Three.js there are only 8 vertices).

3) I'm surprised that getVerticesData(POSITION) returns an array of numbers. Why don't we have an array of Vector3 ?

All these questions can be summarized in a single one: how do you easily manage vertices update in a box. I find it really complicated to deal with a "big-array-with-96-number-and-deal-with-it" for a single cube (knowing I will have to deal with more complicated polygons in the future).

Hope you can give me advices or tools for that !

Have a nice day,

Colmea

Hi welcome on this forum and welcome in the wonderful BJS world :)

1) well, the concepts of front, back, up, down are quite complex in 3D as they depend upon the camera position

To exactly know what face of your box you want to address, you could first give each a different color.
This doc may help you : http://doc.babylonjs.com/tutorials/CreateBox_Per_Face_Textures_And_Colors

http://doc.babylonjs.com/tutorials/CreateBox_Per_Face_Textures_And_Colors#colors