Browser strategy game server architecture (with pics)

johndoebr

Hi all,

I have been working as a Java Developer for over 7 years and while studying AngularJS I decided to create a browser strategy game for fun, like Travian/TribalWars/Ikariam etc...

Right now I am thinking about how the server architecture should be. I tried to find some examples on how this kind of games distributed their servers but I couldn't find any useful resource, so I came with my own.

My sketch and authentication flow (follow the numbers from 1 to 9):

enter image description here

In a general way, is that a suitable one?

From my personal developer experience I decided it was a safe idea to split the public front-end from ther auth and game servers.

Do you think there are any Cons in this architecture?

About hosting, which service/host is most suitable for each server?

1) Authentication server, single point
2) Front-End server, distributed over the world
3) Game Servers, each one in its specific country

I am open to new ideas and changes!

Thanks in advance!

Looks like a good architecture to me.

You might want to think about adding a CDN for globally available static assets to save some load on your game servers but otherwise looks like that setup would be great for large games with a large player base.

As they are all decoupled processes scaling horizontally should let you get up to very very large numbers without too much work.

Welcome to the forums, we get these sort of architectural questions fairly regularly so hopefully you'll come back with some feedback on how it goes for you. I agree, finding people writing about architecture is pretty rare, or, very hard to follow, they often focus on the practical and don't explain why some features of their architecture exist.