Question and/or Guidance

CharlesL

This is my first attempt at 3d programming and Babylon.js. I am attempting to make a grid based tactical system. So far, I have made this. http://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#NJZKS
The current example is not very performant. Am I on the right path here? If not, can I get a bit of advice/guidance? I am mostly just trying to see
if I am headed in the right direction or if I should drop and re-evaluate.

Well, I am glad its running better for you. I am getting about 12fps on average on my system. What I'm trying to create is a basic turn based tactical combat game. This part was me testing out building a 3d grid. I guess ultimately I am unsure of the best direction to go. 

So, if that is running good for you and you don't think this could be a bad route to start with, I will continue on the path I am on right now. If, you think this is a bad way to start out I would appreciate a bit of direction towards the more optimal way. 

Hey, I tested this on a gtx 960m and it seems to be running at 60fps as well. I don't know if you have a dedicated graphics card or not, but if you are running this on a laptop with a dedicated graphics card make sure to set the browser to work with the dedicated card. Also check your power options and manually set it up to be on max performance. I don't know if you're running mac, windows, or linux, but I'm sure a quick google search will yield results. 

In terms of direction for a game, this is what I break it down into. {graphics && animation, game logic/design, art, music}. It seems like you're trying to create a game like Final Fantasy Tactics or Tactics Ogre. If you haven't already, I recommend you play these games and observe how they work. These games can be easily emulated using ppsspp or psx emulator. I use emuparadise for roms.

Hey, nice to see you on the forum :)