Phaser Tilemap: Make some layers collide on all sides, others only on the top

praine

I'm a newbie with Phaser tile maps. I've created a simple Mario-esque platform game where the player can jump around and land on platforms. This all works fine, but now I'm trying to add some "walls" to the level which the player should not be able to pass through horizontally, and can't figure out how to get this behavior working (see attached illustration for better explanation)

Here's the code I'm using to read the tilemap data and set up collision:

pf.map = pf.game.add.tilemap('level2');

//the first parameter is the tileset name as specified in Tiled, the second is the key to the asset
	    pf.map.addTilesetImage('tiles_spritesheet', 'gameTiles');

//create layers
	    pf.blockedLayer = pf.map.createLayer('blockedLayer');
	    pf.walls = pf.map.createLayer('walls');

//collision on blockedLayer
	    pf.map.setCollisionBetween(1, 5000, true, 'blockedLayer');
	    pf.map.setCollisionBetween(1, 5000, true, 'walls');

The "walls" layer should collide with the player on all sides, and the "blocked" layer should only collide on the top. Currently both the "walls" layer and the "blocked" layer are colliding with the player only on the top.

Any help or advice very much appreciated!

Screen_Shot_2017-01-24_at_7_37_39_PM.png

Hi all, quick update.

I've partly solved the issue.. I figured out the reason the player avatar wasn't colliding with the wall was because I was directly manipulating its x coordinates rather than using velocity (as per this thread).

However, now I have the opposite problem: the player is colliding horizontally with parts of the blocked layer as well as the wall layer. I found a function that allows one-way (vertical only) collision on a specific layer, but it requires a list of tile IDs that I'm not sure how to get. I just want the player to collide ONLY vertically (down) with any non-blank tile on the blocked layer.

Thanks in advance