Pixi V4 performance issues

trajektorijus

Hey fellas, 

I have been playing with this prototype animation a year ago. And now I decided to develop the real thing. 
The only problem is that V4 introduced major FPS drops for some reason. Can someone explain me what's going on? 

V3: https://codepen.io/trajektorijus/pen/BzONov (smooth)
V4: https://codepen.io/trajektorijus/pen/aymBeP (terrible frame drops)

I am not sure how should I optimise this. I am fairly new in the field, so if someone could through an advice I would be very happy.
Tried enabling cacheAsBitmap on the image sprite elements, but that did nothing (only messed up the mask positions and animations).
Even when I turn off the rotations and all the animations the fps is just as bad.

Cheers!

Hi, thanks for a quick response! They didn't load because I use crossorigin.me to make external images work, which is very slow sometimes... Sorry about that.
I tried profiling. Most of the time is spent in the animate function. Which tells me very little what is actually wrong.

I got the same perf on both the v3 and v4 versions of your demo. Consistently 60 fps, and majority of the time in profile was spent idle or logging the frame time.

This held true for me in both Chrome and Firefox. I also forced it into canvas mode, and it still performed well in the v4 demo.

Can you provide more details about what you are experiencing, your platform, and can you upload a CPU profile so i can examine it?

Well, I am working on an old laptop.
It's Lenovo Y580, i7-3610QM, GTX660m, 16GB Ram, Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit.
All I want is the FPS to stay at at least 30.
If the screenshots aren't enough I can do a video recording of both demos. The difference is really noticeable. I am not nitpicking here. V3 is solid 60fps, and V4 drop to just a few FPS at times. 
On the actual app, I am building, the situation is even worse (attached).

I hope the screenshots will be helpful, thanks!

cpu_profiles.png

elapsedMS.png