Hi Guys,

I am new to Babylon and been given a task to apply pbr Material to obj files after they are imported in an already existing babylon project.

I cant figure it out how to do this and I was thinking if any of you lads could help me on this. This project contains two js files, one called render and other one is loadfile. I dont know how and in which class to define PBR material , adjust the PBR attributes and where to force the loaded obj files to use the defined PBR material. I would be grateful if you help me on this.

Hi - Welcome to the forum!  What you are asking is going to depend on a couple of factors.

1. Version of BabylonJS  OBJ loader
2. If your OBJ files are already loading a Material.

So, if you look at the OBJ loader latest version, the parseSolid() method waits until all the materials are loaded before returning (blocking):
https://github.com/BabylonJS/Babylon.js/blob/master/loaders/src/OBJ/babylon.objFileLoader.ts#L906

I'm assuming you are on an older version, since it's an existing project and this is a really new change.

What this means for working with an OBJ file with material using an older version of BabylonJS can be quite confusing, because if you assign a material in your function initmesh( mesh ) then it will be overwritten when the MTL file loads asynchronously.  You can see if your OBJ file is loading materials from the OBJ file text contents, but you can also see in the network tab if a .MTL file is being loaded.  I'm pretty sure that if you set a material in initmesh(mesh) and the MTL file loads on older versions that the PBR material you assign in initMesh() will get overwritten - at least on slower connections.

So, 3 options that I can see:
1. Upgrade OBJ Loader. Set PBR material in initMesh function.
2. Remove materials from OBJ files.  You should do this anyway to save bandwidth, if the materials aren't needed.  For any OBJ loader version.  Set PBR Material in initMesh.